Mono->Stereo External FX

Forgive me if this is common knowledge, I’m fairly new to Cubase and couldn’t find an answer elsewhere.

I have a hardware guitar effects box that has a mono input and a stereo output. I’ve added it in the External FX section in VST connections. I now want to be able to use it as an insert on a mono audio track (which is being mixed into a stereo output).

When I opened the Insert Routing section in the VST Audio Channel Settings for the mono track, I noticed that there are two channels available to the inserts. I added the (already defined) external effect as a VST insert and adjusted the send/return levels (my effects box showed it was getting sufficient input, and my audio interface showed good levels coming back in on both channels).

The first thing I noticed was that there was that my left channel was coming through wet as expected, while my right channel was dry/unaffected. After reading about the inserts routing a bit, i realized that the default for a mono->stereo insert is to pass one channel through dry. I fixed this by disconnecting the right (dry) channel in the inserts routing pane. Unfortunately, although this made the audio come through as desired, it was only on the left channel with the right channel silent.

I am assuming that the L & R outputs from a mono channel to a stereo output are identical at the start of the insert chain. Therefore, it should make no difference which “wire” in the inserts routing that I input to my external FX box. However, my theory is that when I cut the connection of the “dry” output (not being sent to the fx box), cubase assumes I do not want any of the track output to contribute to the corresponding L/R channel master stereo output. Since, I am generating a stereo sound from a mono signal, this is not the case. I see that my FX box is returning both channels and, according to the inserts routing, both of those channels should be coming back through Cubase in the insert chain.