Most simple Cubase available?

I’ve been using Cubase5VSTR1 for some odd 15 years on my trustworthy Windows PC. Some 2 years ago I switched to Apple MB Pro. Ofcourse, my Cubase doesn’t run on the OSX platform, so I kept one laptop Windows machine solely for the purpose of running the (old and dated) Cubase. Not to mention the dongle that came with Cubase and for which the hardware is missing alltogether. Shortly said: I’m in the marketing for a serious update!! (By the way: I still have my Atari Cubase somewhere in my desk :smiley: )

My problem. I’ve dowloaded the trial version of the latest Cubase 7 and fired it up. The UI looked as something that came from the command panels of the StarTrek Enterprise. I don’t need all the fancy audio stuff, VST modules, plug-ins and whatshemecall its… I only use the MIDI parts of Cubase including related functions like score and drummap. At this moment I feel as though Cubase is more a audio workstation.

Can someone advise me which type of Cubase could offer me what I need. No. fancy stuff, just the (wonderfull!) Midi functions. Maybe an older version of Cubase? But I can’t Finder older, purchable verslons…

Best regards, Matt

If you want an older version of Cubase, you’ll have to do some internet/ebay searching and be patient for one to come up, or ask here if someone wants to sell you an old one, as I’m pretty sure Steinberg is not going to sell you anything but current versions.

I don’t know if your Cubase version is a candidate for a license transfer to their new eLicenser dongle so you can keep using it, another user ‘thought’ that was the case, but I’d get an official answer. I do know Cubase VST 5/32 is able to be transferred, as I read something to that affect here in an official Steinberg sticky.