Mousing Around - or Not!

Hello,

I’m new to this forum, but not to music typesetting, copying, engraving, etc. I’ve actually been at it for over 35 years, and of course after all of this time I’ve grown very opinionated as to what’s needed in one of these programs. Sound familiar? For sure! You veterans of these wars know that we all become this way after spending so much time in front of our monitors, especially if we work in a variety of styles for a variety of clients.

Along the way I’ve spent a bit of time with (early) Finale and (more recent) Sibelius. These apps seem to be the most popular among the users of this forum and unlike the majority of you I’ve very little practical experience with them and can’t begin to offer any constructive comments on their strengths and weaknesses.

I began my adventure with computer music setting in 1979 after having been burned by still another copyist, who did such a horrendous job on a large orchestral work on mine that the premier was nearly cancelled because the parts were so full of errors. I set out searching for some sort of solution to my problem, hoping there might some help available with one of the new “personal computers” that were beginning to come on the market. Research was not easy especially in an area that was considered so “exotic.” I don’t want to shock any of you, so please sit down & hold on to something before you read my next sentence: There was no Internet – at least in the sense of what we have today. I realize that this is hard to fathom, but alas, it’s true!

Around 1981 I came across an article in High Fidelity (one of the many music magazines of the day) about a small company in Vermont - New England Digital - that was working on a new synthesizer called a Synclavier. The sentence that grabbed me was something like “. . . you play anything you like on it’s keyboard, press a button and it will print it out.” A short time later I was in the car headed for Vermont.