Moving projects back and forth 2 computers

Hi, I am a 25 year cubase veteran, just havn’t been here in a while.

I am currently Using cubase 8 and composing on two computers. I am looking for the best practice for doing this.

I typically am home and using my studio pc in the evening, then wish to move project to my laptop so I can work on it during the day during lunch at work, then return to studio in the evening. Repeat this for about 2 weeks.

Here is what I currently do from the very beginning of creating the project on the Studio PC

Step 1 ( Create Project and Put project on USB drive)
Currently I would start on the studio pc and save all project files to a folder named for the song, lets call it “SONGX” , use “Backup Project” to put project on USB drive (under a folder with same name, “SONGX”).

Step 2. (Move project to Laptop and edit for day)
Put USB in laptop, open the project on the USB then and “Backup Project” to laptop drive under a new folder with same song name, “SONGX”.

Step 3 (Move project off of laptop and back onto USB Drive)
Once done for the day on the laptop, I will delete the CONTENTs of the “SONGX” folder on the USB, then “Backup Project” on the laptop to the now empty “SONGX” folder on the USB drive. (folder must be empty for “Backup Project” to work, no option to overwrite)

Step 4 (Move newer version of project BACK to studio PC)
When I get home, I would go to “SONGX” folder on the studio pc and delete the contents. (Scary! folder must be empty for “Backup Project” to work, no option to overwrite) On the studio PC open the project from the “SONGX” folder on the USB drive and then “Backup Project” to the now empty “SONGX” folder on the PC.

Step 5 (Move off of Studio PC back onto USB Drive)
I will delete the CONTENTs of the “SONGX” folder on the USB, then “Backup Project” on the Studio PC to the now empty “SONGX” folder on the USB drive. (folder must be empty for “Backup Project” to work, no option to overwrite)