MR816 X - how to setup, connection and installation

Hi,

I’ve just purchased a MR816 X - Audio Interfaces for my son. However, i’m having problem to setup the hardware and the devices. Your manual is very brief and does not give full details.

1. The software from the CD could not be installed. It stops at 91% - no error just say progressing…for more than 30 mins, but does not work.
  2. How do i connect Audio Interfaces to my speaker? passive speakers? or must I purchase the active spakers?
  3. For my testing I’ve done the following:

a. connect a microphone to MR816x
b. connect a headphone to MR816x
c. spoke over the mic but no sound came out to the headset.

1. Do you have a copy of HOW-TO SETUP my devices to the M816x? the manual does not give brief detail. eg. how to connect to my MAC Pro, headset etc? I’m not a musician and this is for my son. We don’t have a clue how all this works.

I am sorry if my questions sound too basic. Pls help. thks

no replies? :frowning:

I don’t know much about the MR816, especially not on a mac. But it sounds like you could use some help. I am curious about why you bought an advanced audio interface like the MR816 if neither you or your son have any idea on how to operate it :wink:.

Anyway, I suggest you try to post your question in the MR816 subforum instead of here. The ‘Forum issues’ forum is just for problems people have with this website. You may need to register your MR816 with Steinberg to gain access to the Steinberg Hardware subforum.

dzan, dzan, I’m no expert on, but I might help you with a few general answers.

I’m no expert on the MR816 (yet), but I might help you with a few general answers.

1. It sounds like the discs are damaged. Try download the divers from the Steinberg (http://www.steinberg.net/en/support/downloads_hardware/downloads_mr816.html). This is recommended anyway. Never rely soley on the discs supplied with any hardware. Always download the latest software from the manufactures site!