Multiple Instances Of Cubase With Multiple Monitors

Hi guys,

I’m rather new to Cubase, and I love it. I currently have a trial version of Cubase Elements 7.
I’m a live sound engineer, and I have 16 channels of beautiful ADAT running through my PC before it hits the mixing desk.

I used to use Sony Acid just for recording purposes, but now I’ve switched to Cubase it’s a dream.

I have been requested a number of times to do live recordings (realtime - not post mastered) and, recently I have been asked to do a live audio stream.

This is easily done with Cubase for record/stream, and hardware desk for mixing the room, however, I want to switch over fully digital.

I have tried the obvious things, and I have searched the forum, and all I can find is people asking advice about a single instance of Cubase running across multiple monitors.

What I would like to do is, run two instances of Cubase - one on each monitor, so that I can have two individual audio mixes. Anyone who has tried to record the output to a PA, will know it definitely takes two separate mixes to achieve this.
Both instances of Cubase would need to share the ADAT resources.

I hope to stick with Elements, as its nice and simple to use, but lots of awesome features.

Can anyone give some advice on this please?
Thanks,
Glenn

Why not two mixer windows with different visibility settings and two output busses all in one Cubase instance?

I’ve never tried it but I should imagine two Cubase would fight awkwardly over resources, assuming your asio driver would support it.

You would need (full) Cubase for multiple mixer windows, but you’d also get features like Control Room which would make such a setup easier. There’s a learning curve but what you want to do is not trivial, either. However it’s all doable with one instance of Cubase.

That would probably work. The ASIO driver supports quite a lot, as the card is a RME Hammerfall HDSP 9652.