[ music] Whale - Desert

new remixed and mastered version.
https://soundcloud.com/peter-van-de-woestijne/whale

Hello
I’ve been a fan of your music and this one is very good indeed . Reminds me of my own piece Humpback of Waterdame which like your piece was about whales ,so yeah I liked your piece very much. the synth in the second part was a little on the harsh side taking the chill away a little bit. was that intentional? anyhow even with that, it was great. :wink:
here’s a link to my song, I had added a little BBC footage to accompany it as well (I hope it’s within copyright usage laws).

Thanks Masoomi for listening and your reply.
I am experimenting with a different workflow . I prepare and mix an ableton project realtime mixing and exporting it into cubase and add tracks there.
I try not to use any quantisation . Currently i am studying on improving my mastering. Use Wavelab 10 for that. I don’t want my music becoming loud and try not to join the loudness hype. Mastering tutorials are great on the sound on sound channel on you tube so there’s a lot to learn.

regards Peter

Hi Peter, beautiful, once again. It all flows in an ambient way, which is what you’re after. One thing I noticed is that starting at 2:32, there is a crackle introduced, which I hear up until about 4 minutes. From the standpoint of mastering, I am no expert. But I would say that your overall piece is lower in volume than others. No problem for me. I use Izotope, not Wavelab. I would agree with Masoomi that the introduction of the synth was a little harsh. Second time through with the synth was milder. I’m not against quantizing per se, but I don’t hear anything that bothers me in that respect, so it’s good. Thanks for posting. I hope there’s a day where you, Masoomi, and I can meet at the Leidseplein for a beer to have a deeper discussion.