Must restart Dorico to detect audio interface

Hello everyone,

When I am working on Dorico and decide to switch the sound from my laptop speakers to my monitors through my audio interface, Dorico doesn’t recognize the new audio device in the “Audio device setup” panel. The only way I found to get Dorico to detect it is by restarting the program.
I am on a mac and am using an old scarlett focusrite audio interface.
Having to restart the whole project when working on a big orchestration or even several tabs of orchestration is certainly not optimal, and hinders workflow…

Is this expected behavior ? Many programs like logic support this kind of functionality.
Thanks in advance !

I have been using Dorico for a few months now to complete a few projects, and decided it was time to start asking in the forum some of the questions I still have and bugs I found. Very happy with this software !

Simón

1 Like

Dorico scans your audio devices only on startup. Many pro audio software acts like this, as it is a safe way to guarantee stable communication between the OS and the interface (and fairly many options depend on for example your number of outputs). Logic is an exception for sure.

EDIT: Welcome to the forum, Simon!

Hi Simon, could you please be more precise? In the Device Setup dialog in the list of drivers, does the Focusrite turn up in the list or not? Or asked differently, you can select the Focusrite in the list of drivers, but it does not get accepted when you click okay?
Also, could you please go through that sequence again, i.e. switch from speakers to Focusrite, it does not work, restart Dorico and it does work. After that, please do Help > Create Diagnostics Report and post the corresponding zip file here. Thanks