My Edrums, midi and Cubase

I’m sorry about the wordiness of this post but I don’t really know how else to explain what I have done already/learned.

Looks like some pretty knowledgeable folks here so maybe I can get some questions answered. I am a total newbie. I am not coming here without trying to get past this myself. I have spent what I consider to be a reasonable amount of time just trying to get Cubase to soundback a .mid format 0 MIDI file. I’ve learned a lot in the process so I don’t consider it wasted time but I want/need to move forward and I’m not getting past this sticking point.

I have a DTX900 trigger module. Its the brain for a series of Yamaha electronic drum kits. Cubase AI4 came with the set so that is what I am using. I used Cubase to record some drumming and was able to play it back, albeit, the voices (drum sounds) were entirely different, but because it recorded and played back shouldn’t that mean the set- up between the two is correct? This is not my major concern, however. I mention it just to let you know I have had some success.

I play along with MIDI files using my trigger module so obviously it has no problem generating sounds for these files. The .mid files I get over the Internet. The module will only handle format 0 files. I want to learn how to manipulate/alter some of them beyond what the DTX900 can do for me. I was thinking I could use Cubase to do this. I can import or load a .mid and all the data appears but I can’t get any sound from it. Windows Media Player(WMP) has no problem playing back these files. I thought as long as Cubase is pointing to this “Microsoft GS Wavetable SW Synth(MSWS)” that it would use it to generate the correct sounds. Isn’t that what the media player is using or am I mistaken? Why does the DTX900 and WMP play the voices the same way but Cubase does not, let alone just simply playing back the file period.