My first DORICO-score written from scratch

Dear fellow-users. I have placed R.Strauss Suite opus 4, part 3 Gavotte here with dorico-file and pdf’s. I am really impressed how fluently you write in DORICO and how precise and beautiful the layout-tools work. Dorico R.Strauss. Thanks to the Dorico-crew. Yours Arne Dich

Arne, since you publish this so candidly, isn’t copyright an issue to consider? This work is not PD in the EU (Strauss died in 1949) Also, in order to publish an arrangement you will have to have the written consent of the original publisher. If you have that, it should show on your material… I’m not a legal expert, this is just meant as a fair warning… :slight_smile:

Legal issues aside, I’ve noticed one thing: the PDFs have gray rests (from the Show Implicit Rests).
This is because of a bug in the current version.
Either turning off the implicit rests before exporting or exporting in Black&White (instead of colour) should do the trick.

Anyway, congratulations on a first completed project!

Hello Arne,

That’s a great first score Arne and sounds good too. :slight_smile:

I hope you are able to resolve the copyright issue and look forward to seeing more of your scores.

Regards

Michael

Thanks for the above. I’m aware of the PD / EU issue but wasn’t aware of the second part (the arrangement). Does this hold true for all works irrespective of death dates etc,?

Thank you for your comments: About the grey rests. I’ll remember the advice.
About R.Strauss: Ups. I am 2 years too early. The copyright expires 70 after the composers death. On my pages I only have arrangements of “expired” compositions.
2 “exceptions”: Gerschwin (in USA they try to prolong copyright) Carnaval de Venise - and R.Strauss: Richard Strauss Serenade op.7 Arr. for Wind-Nonet.
The R.Strauss Gavotte mentioned above is not an arrangement. It is meant as basis for a new arrangement for windnonet.