N12 stops outputting drums on mixdown. Argghh!

This is a weird one that stressed me out for three hours. I produced a song on a new artist. I normally check every part of a mix but I must have been in a hurry and only checked the first half. Big mistake. Halfway thru the song the drums drop out. I would have had to do that myself. So I opened up the song file and it plays fine all the way thru. I rendered a mix and EEEK! The same thing happened but randomly. The snare dropped in and out after the first chorus. Drums stopped completely after the bridge. I have a master drum sub that I route all the drums to so I can bring all of them up or down easily when mixing. First thing I do is route the drums directly to the TRACK out. Nope, same issue. Then I tried mixing in sections and figured I’d just edit the pieces together. Nope, drums still dropping in and out. All other instruments rendering fine. Everything plays fine top to bottom, they’re just not rendering correctly. After three hours of trying everything I can think of like removing any plugins, making sure there’s no ghost automation anywhere, etc. I decide to close Nuendo 12 and open the song in Cubase 12. Where it plays and renders perfectly the first time. WTF??? Does this mean my install of N12 has somehow gotten corrupted? I’m scared to work in Nuendo until I get this resolved. Any and all ideas will be greatly appreciated.

Ted Perlman

If you reboot and reopen in Nuendo, (after you’re done, and there is no deadline, thus no stress), does it play correctly?

That is sure weird.

1 Like

Hahaha. Exactly!!! No other way to describe it. Thank goodness for two programs!!

1 Like

It “could” become the alt version… I mean, if it was only in the bridge.

LOL.