Need Help Reading Meters

I’ve been using Cubase 7 for a few months now and have become fairly comfortable with it. But I am still having problems with one area, reading the meters.

When the output channel meter goes in the red, I can’t see where to tell how many decibels over it is so I can lower the other levels by that amount. Essentially I just lower sliders until the meter stops turning red. But that’s not a very scientific way of doing things.

So is there some way to tell exactly how many decibels I am over zero so I can lower my input by that much? I’m sure it’s something simple but I just can’t figure it out.

Thanks for your help.

There should be a value at the bottom of the meter that records the “peak” value. If you click it, it should reset to -infinity.
HTH
J.L.

Well, the meter is pinning but the number at the bottom still shows 0 db. I click it and the red goes off for a second and then comes back on. But I see no change in db.

Have no clue if this is a bug or I’m doing something wrong or looking at the wrong meter.

Wrong way to go about it. All channels shouldn’t be lowered by the amount of clip in the master.

Regardless, how can I read the meters? A helpful response would be nice. And yes, I know, you lower the input channel, which I am also having trouble figuring out where the main input is. Or of course I can lower the one channel that’s actually causing the red meter, if I could figure out what that channel is.

The point is, when I play the song and look at all the channels in mix consel, all the meters show 0.00 at the bottom regardless of how loud anything is unless I actually take one of the levers and move it up or down. At that point, it is only showing me how much I’ve moved the lever up or down and not how loud the sound coming from it is.

In short, I end up adusting the levels by hunting and pecking until I get a mjx that I like and no red.

Not the most scientific way to do things but I guess if it works, it works.