Need help with midi composing with score editor and Cubase sounds

Elements 13 newbie here. I had free version of Cubase LE years ago which I liked and I know Audacity pretty well. I just bought a Tascam USB cassette deck to digitize a lot of old tapes and modify them with effects plus I’d like to do some midi composing. A salesman at Sweetwater recommended Elements 13 for the Tascam but figuring out how it works has been quite frustrating and I don’t look forward to reviewing countless youtubes to figure out exactly what I want to do so I’m hoping I can get some specific help here.

Matching the Tascam up was pretty unproductive. After several fruitless hours with the Cubase manual at hand I eventually phoned Sweetwater tech support and a very helpful gentleman there spent an hour plus with me including remotely taking over my computer to see if he could get them working together, all to no avail. Finally I tried Audacity and that linked immediately to the Tascam so I’m happily recording my tapes with that.

What I want to do now with Cubase is compose with midi, mainly using the score editor, and delve into the potentially awesome array of Cubase sounds available. I started by downloading just Mystic Spaces but couldn’t get it to show up anywhere in Elements, even after copying it to the VST Sounds folder. I then downloaded Halion Sonic 7 and it showed up with no problem and I got it into a midi track but the score editor remained grayed out. I loaded an old midi file of mine and got it into a track with the Halion and then the score editor was available but I want it there without having to load an old midi file first.