Need help: Yamaha THR10X to Cubase AI9

Hi! Please help me/ teach me how to set up and record using Yamaha THR10X in Cubase AI9. I’m new to recording programs and can’t find my way to use it. Getting frustrated :frowning: . Thanks a lot!!!

Philippe

Hi.
Have you installed the relevent yamaha usb driver ?
(Yamaha Downloads)
If so, have you set the inputs (devices\vst connections) ?

pjd.

Are the Yamaha USB drivers correctly installed?
Have you used any DAW software previously?

Hi pjd! Yes I did. I can see the THR10x in the device set up under the MIDI section. When I create an empty project, I don’t see the amp in the VST connections settings, contrary to what yamaha’s video has showed (they’ve exampled a Cubase A6 which is obsolete). The only option there is the “Built-in Audio”. Please let me know if you need further information to clarify. Thanks!

Hi C.LYDE! I guess so, it can be seen in the MIDI devices options, so I guess it’s installed correctly. No I haven’t used any DAW software before. Please let me know any information you need to help me out. Thanks!

Hmmm - don’t know why it’s showing up in midi as it’s an audio device…

Is the THR10 showing in the “ASIO driver” dropdown in the “VST Audio system” section in “devices\device setup” ?

Also, are you using the same usb socket you used when you installed the driver, you may need to reinstall the driver
if you want to plug into a different usb socket.

HTH
pjd

Hi pjd. Thanks! I re-installed the driver and the amp shows in the ASIO options now. I have also set up the input and output audio source using the amp. However, when I hit the record, it does not take the sound from the amp, it records nothing. I must have missed something. Any ideas why? Just a little more help please. Thanks!

philippe

Hi,
You must be very nearly there !

Have a read of the manual (pages 179/180) regarding input routing selection (in the inspector)