New Cubase User

Greetings,

I’m a Sonar refugee that just purchased Cubase Pro after Cakewalk went under. Just wanted to stop by and say hello.

I’m an IT guy who is a simple music hobbyist. I’m the worlds’ most ungifted musician, but I do have quite a bit of fun playing around with everything. I’m also a very new hobbyist - I only purchased Sonar as my first DAW last year. 18 months ago, I didn’t know what a DAW, VST, or Midi was - I can at least make some simple recordings and route tracks now. I’m bummed about Sonar going under (I was just starting to learn my way around it), but I am excited to start in with Cubase.

One of the best things about Sonar was the extremely helpful forum, I hope that you folks are equally accommodating with a newbie. I’m very dependent on the charity of others to learn things. When I started, I had absolutely zero recording experience, which makes things difficult. I generally don’t have any issues with the technology, but I do with the terminology and methodology. So, if I ask a stupid question, please forgive me.

I grew up a piano player, so I’m really into synths and Midi. Cubase’s reputation for midi is the reason I purchased it over Studio One. Waiting on my license to come through, so in the meantime I’ll be watching Groove 3 and YouTube videos on the basics of Cubase.

Thank you in advance for any help you are able to provide me! Looking forward to being here.

Welcome to the forum. :wink:

Regards. :sunglasses:

Welcome husker!

You’ll find many forum members will help if you reach out. By the way, I started using Cubase after Gibson killed Opcode Studio Vision. It really is kind of ironic.

Welcome!
I’m also a sonar user but have been using Cubase as well for about three years.
While this forum is not as active as the sonar forums were they are very helpful.
I’ll extend my hand to help any of you and fellow sonarites along the way either in the forum or via message.