New forum member from South Africa seeking career advice

Hi everybody,

I’m new here and would like to introduce myself to the Steinberg family. I’ve been using Steinberg products since 2004, and am mostly an experienced Cubase user (although I’ve dabbled with Nuendo here and there). I completed the ‘Advanced Music Production Course’ at EMENDY Sound & Music Technology College (a CERTIFIED TRAINING CENTRE here in South Africa: https://www.steinberg.net/en/education/training/south_africa.html). It’s basically a 2-year Diploma, for which I completed an additional ‘1 year practical internship’ as well.

I’m currently on the lookout for job opportunities in my country, but also abroad. I’d like to find out if there are any other Steinberg users (preferrably Cubase users) that are South African that might be able to give me some career advice, especially when it comes to Cubse-equipped/Steinberg Certified studios. I’ve kind of been having a hard time finding reputable career-leads as of late, especially for studios equipped with Steinberg products.

Also, for job opportunities abroad, would my ‘accreditation’ be of any use? Is this ‘Steinberg accreditation/certification’ internationally recognised? Would it be possible to look for jobs overseas, and possibly find employment?

Any help would be appreciated!

Thank you,
Juan

Hi there.

I was looking to get a official “Steinberg Diploma” mostly to use it for my teaching resume, but since I wasn’t able to get this in my country I let this pass, BUT, one thing I can say you for sure is that audio related gigs don’t depend on Diplomas.

I’m a Sound Technician and never, not even once a client ask for my certificates or diplomas, they just listen to my works and either they like it or don’t. That’s all. Doesn’t really matter what DAW or hardware you use if the result is what the client wants.

Just my 2 cents

Regards

Hi,