New here, advice please?

Hi everyone. I am new here, I have read some good things about Steinberg but never used any software.

I am also new to music-making (well, I have “tinkered” from time to time over the years, but nothing more than you guys do in a week I guess).

What do you recommend for starting with? I have a pretty good PC, but what specs are recommended for the software I should use for a noob?

Thanks in advance

Get a USB Elicenser first from your local dealer.

Install a 30 days trial - e.g. Cubase Pro or Cubase Elements and give it a try…

Best
Heiko

Greetings to all. I am also new here. I work in an insurance agency, and I listen to music a lot. I’m thinking of leaving soon to train in sound mixing. That’s why I registered on this site.
See you!

You don’t even need the USB eLicenser to trial Cubase Elements.
Try that first. Use it for 3 days then you can buy Elements, buy a USB eLicenser and trial Pro or just buy Pro.
Start with the totally free option first.
But, if you are going to be doing any audio recording such as singing or guitar, you will be limited without an ASIO audio interface.
It shouldn’t be an issue initially if you are just going to record MIDI from a keyboard or controller.

30 days trial

watch some videos for beginners

A great way to get started is to buy the Steinberg UR22 MK2 audio interface, or the new UR22C audio interface. It includes a lightweight “Cubase AI” edition, which is similar to Cubase Elements but with a few less features.

Hi, am I right that Steinberg UR22 MK2 audio interface, or the new UR22C audio interface are the simplest and most accessible for beginners or is there something even easier? Thanks

Ohh this thread is the right place for me either.
I’m a newbie in this sphere too, but I have such a strong willing to develop my music skills.
So, I’m happy to be a part of your community, guys.