New idea for Smart Duration Step Note Input: Proud to introduce Demo Concept and composition

Hi,
I’m a composer who like to compose on my Dorico Notation SW using MIDI keyboard, and really appreciate the ease of use and intuitive user friendly features of Dorico.
However I still struggle with defining each Notes duration when I composing.

Here is a video #1 example attached where I demonstrate this new idea (of course in an edited video) where you can see how each note that is pressed - it causing the other held notes of the chord to expand their duration (according to the new note’s duration value):
During this video all this composition can be done without manually changing the duration value even once!
Please watch with Full HD quality to notice the duration changes automatically of held notes while entering new notes)

Hope you will like this idea :smiley:

Explanation and background:
Since I’m struggle to compose in Real time note entry (since I still don’t have all the composition in my mind and I don’t always think so fast at metronome beat (even if it slow) - Sometime I like to hold some notes together and then resolve one after the other where I have time to think where I want to go next step.
So most of the time I compose in regular step-entry - note by note.
The problem with it is that I have to define each note separately with it’s duration prior to specifying which note. I still don’t know while composing this note how long it is going to be pressed. Also each note in the chords or harmony resolves in different timing (so few notes held 3/4, few held 2/4, few 4/4 etc. - which makes it hard to compose this way.
So I was thinking in a way to combine the benefits of both worlds - step entry and real time note entry but without having to care so much for the accurate performance and standing on beat of the metronome.
In this way you will be able to compose fluently without having to think about the duration all the time…