New MacBook Pros/no optical drive/how to install Cubase?

Aloha again Steiny guys,
perhaps this post should be placed in the ‘Computer / Studio Hardware & Setup’ forum

Since there is no on-line download for Cubase 6, do I now
have to get an external optical drive (DVD/CD) just to install the programme?

Or will Steinberg offer Cubase on an SDXC card or thumb drive?

TIA
{‘-’}

Copy the DVD to a thump drive yourself while you still have an optical drive…!?

Thanks t, Good advice.
But is that legal? And what about C7/8/9 etc?
{‘-’}

Probably…

I don´t´t know, but I didn´t even know they are released already…

Where do i get cubase 9 need it i am only a amateur but i need professional gear best yesterday.

:laughing:

Sorry guys. Ma bad.

I should have posted:

Because I plan on keeping a new 'puter around for a couple of years,
what about future versions of Cubase?

But I guess only Steiny can really answer this.
{‘-’}

Good one t, I just made a copy.

‘Honest officer, I don’t know how that got there’!
{‘-’} :slight_smile::):slight_smile:

Officer to a diver “alcohol drugs medicaments?” driver no thank you sir i don’t want to buy anything.

And to the topic for laptops without a cdrom and extrenal usbcdrom is always fine.
I had to buy one because my pclaptops cdroms was crap got it exchange 2 time during warrenty and afterthis i bought an external sony cdrom and all is fine now

Greetz

Hi.

Bassbase is right. You can get the Macbook Pro superdrive for example.
But the ones from LG are also ok.

If you still own a Mac that has a superdrive,
connect it to the same WiFi and activate
DVD Sharing in the Sharing Menu of the System Preferences
on both Macs.

Now you should be able to install the Disc via WiFi on the new mbp.

Best regards.

I doubt there’s anything ‘illegal’ about copying the CUbase installation disc. After all Steinberg have their own, robust license protection system and it doesn’t depend on having the original DVD to hand.