New member/beginner has questions about notation software

10-23-19

To the Members of the Community:

1. I am an adult beginner piano student. I have the modest needs for musical notation software a beginner might be expected to have. It is not impossible but unlikely that I will ever compose music. I am not young and the time needed to become sufficiently sophisticated and expert to permit composition seems too long from now. I might be wrong.

2. I run Windows 10; 64-bit operating system.

3. I want to find software that allows me to attach typewritten notes/comments immediately nearby musical notes and chords on sheet music—for example, fingering instructions and/or alphabetical letters identifying notes and chords. I currently try to accomplish the same tasks by creating pdfs of sheet music and using pdf management software to attach text boxes with lettering and numbering at the appropriate places on sheet music. The process is labor-intensive, error-prone and not tailor-made for music—I’m hoping you can recommend musical notation software that makes all of this easy.

4. I would like to be able to design and print flash cards (never for commercial purposes; for my own use only) with musical chords displayed graphically on one side and letter-written comments on the other side. Fancy/decorative graphics are neither desirable nor helpful for my purposes. The ability to print in large format would be both. There are probably other written/graphic teaching and self-teaching aids of which I am not yet aware that would also be helpful to have; I would like access to those also.