New PC advice

Hi,
I’ve just got a new dedicated DAW PC (going to be delivered on Friday), and Im going to keep my existing laptop for all my general computing needs.

I’ve just got a few questions:

1. Back Up.
    How do I take a back up copy of the system when it arrives, in case I ever need to get the system back to it’s original state?

2. Internet
    What do people think about connecting to the internet of a PC im going to keep as a dedicated DAW machine? Ive read some people saying they don’t ever go on the internet on their DAW machine… if you don’t how would you update programms or download and install new programs etc you might want.

3. Anti Virus
    What anti-virus would people recommend? again I;ve read some people saying don’t put any anti virus software on.

Thanks in advance for advice

I am not a professional producer, but I do have a music only computer. With regards to your 3 questions I can say something about my setup.

1. Back-up
    I back-up my computer and projects on an external drive and alternate that with an other external drive.I also let windows make a back-up to a network drive

2. Internet
    I use my music computer for music only. It can access the internet through a proxy-server (raspberry pi running squid3 + squidGuard). Furthermore I only use Firefox as my webbrowser running with NoScript application. The Firefox + Noscript application protects you from most exploitations. My router, an asus, runs on modified merlin firmware with adblocker. The router also runs an tor instance, so all my internet trafic runs throught the tor network making sure I stay anonymous.

3. Anti Virus
    I use the standard anti virus that ships with windows 8. But the Firefox + NoScript combo, as described in step 2, almost guarantees you hasle free surfing. I only surf the web on my DAW computer to steinberg, kvraudio, and my plugin providers.