New to DAWs. Have CB trial - No sound

I have signed up for the Cubase 13 trial. I’m completely new to DAWs. I cannot get any sound out of the program. I am using a PC. I’ve played sound files in the media bay but nothing is playing through my speakers.
I realise I must be a complete nonce, but if anyone out there can offer guidance, I would be very grateful. - Thanks :slight_smile:

Hi and welcome to the forum,

Double-check the Studio > Studio Setup > Audio System. Make sure, the ASIO driver of your choice is selected.

Then double-check the Studio > Studio Setup > Audio Connecting > Outputs. Make sure the Stereo Out is assigned to the wanted Audio Port (output).

Hi Martin, thank you for responding.
I’ve done as you ask, still no noise.

Any guidance you can given would be great. Thanks :slight_smile:

Hi,

Please, don’t use VST System Link at all. Deactivate it. You don’t need it. VST System Link is here is you want to connect and sync two computers with Cubase.

In the top menus choose “Studio”, then “Studio Setup” as in your picture but on the left at the top, select “Audio System” here you can identify your ASIO driver, latency, floating point precision, ASIO guard, change your Power Scheme to the Steinberg one (a must) and if you are suffering any record latency alter the timings to help mitigate it.

Once you are sure you have the selected the correct audio system driver for ASIO at the top of the window (Cubase exclusively uses ASIO) close the menu, go back to “Studio” then choose “Audio Connections” (or press F4). You have six menus across the top, right now you really only need to concentrate on “Inputs”, “Outputs” and “Control Room”.

If you have inputs but they are not showing, just click on “Add Bus”, create a Bus, then create an input (stereo in, mono in, etc.) and assign them to the ports available.