New to recording and cubase -LE5 questions

Hi,
I just got a tascam audio interface that came with cubase LE5. I am running it on a win7 machine.
I have never done any recording before.
I am a guitar player and have no midi instruments.
I got this setup yesterday and have managed to figure out how to record a few tracks with my guitar so far but have a lot of questions.

1. How do i add effects? I see effects listed in the “inserts” area and can bring their screens up and activate them but i hear no differences in my tracks…

2. Where can i get free drum sample loop tracks to use? There dont seem to be any that came with the sw. I found a site where i downloaded over 600 free midi drum tracks… I can open and see them in cubase but dont hear anything when they play… Im assuming you need a midi instrument to play them back with?? Is there a way to use cubase or my windows machine as the midi instrument?? Also is there a way to use my computer keyboard to play drums or piano like you can do with garageband (im told)

3. How do i take sections of music and repeat them to make a song?? This one must be very basic but i have not figured it out yet… So if i play 4 bars of something and want it to repeat 30x or something… Im told in garageband you just grab it and stretch it, this didnt work…

thanks! Im sure i will have a ton more questions once i get going.
Jeff

I got the effects working… So scratch question #1!

I will add another question though. How can i change tempo of a track??
I see the temp track editor but dont understand it and cant get it to do anything. I also see tempo in the panel at the bottom but regardless what number i put in there for tempo, it stays the same.

1. Manual

2. Google

3. Manual