New to UR22MKII

Hi, I’m new to the musical world and don’t really know anything & it dosen’t explain anything in the manuals.
However, yesterday I bough a Steinberg UR22mkII. I’ve downloaded both Steinberg USB device & FW device and also installed it in a correct way, my friends said that a software program isn’t needed for my goals but I installed cubase AL anyways. I basically just wanna learn play guitar to songs on Spotify & youtube I wanna hear my guitar in the computer as I hear the song. As I’m changing the inputs & outputs wich I believe in a correct way and it still doesn’t work. I can see that my sound device receives the sound from my guitar but I cannot hear it. Not in cubase not in FL not at all. I’ve googled & youtubed without any luck, so do I really need a second cable for the line output or is the USB/FW wire enough? What I read it should be, and then again what have I missed that does that I cannot hear the sound of my guitar?
Thanks in advance

Hi Cydroc - Welcome to the Cubase forums! Super exciting, setting up your first recording station!!

Could you please have a list of your equipment, and briefly describe what is connected to what … from the very beginning (Microphone name here is connected to Line 1 of the UR22. The speakers are connected to output YY of the UR22. The computer (?) is connected ….".

With info like that, we may be able to help you better. It doesn’t have to be as complicated as some of the signatures you see around here, but definitely detailed enough to give us an idea.

In the meantime, you can still keep practicing and playing “analog” like the old days!! :laughing: :laughing:

Yes ofc! my computer specs isn’t relevant cause I got 2 computers that I’ve tried on. One MacBook Pro (mid 2012), & 1 windows with i7-core, Geforce 1060 etc… It should be fine on both, at least my windows.

Anyhow, I use the UR22MKII with a single USB-cable - FW connection that came along when I bough it.