Newbie Cubase AI 8

Hello I’m wondering if someone could point me in the right direction?

I’ve been playing guitar for roughly 20 years on and off and I decided it’s time to dip my toe in and see what all this recording is about. I purchased a Steinberg UR22 MKII and its a great piece of kit. My problem is how to use the software that comes with it (Cubase AI 8). I can record to guitars no problem but I find that you need a degree to use the software. I’ve looked on their Youtube Channel but it very limited in what it shows you, and I find its a different version of the software. so how would I go about adding a drum track to my recordings? or some keyboards? I thought I would be able to do this easily within the software.

Any help would be most appreciated or some good tutorials, books or videos!!

Publius Enigma

Hi there,
I have been using cubase for 15 years or so and still find it frustrating. But if I can help in my own words. . . .
if you want to record a ‘sound’ you will do so as you have with your guitar or any other electronic instrument as an audio track. This can be electric guitar/bass/drum machine and is fairly simple and multiple tracks can be built up to create the structure of a song.

If you want to record another instrument that is not electric you will do so with the aid of a microphone and play through this. This could be vocals/brass or string instruments/harmonica etc.

The next difficult but rewarding bit is to use ‘import’ and ‘export’. With this you can take samples of drums or sounds from your pc and bring them into your project and edit them.