Newbie Help

I have come to the world of Cubase after ten years of no music. I am connecting a keyboard via a Focusrite to my MacBook and can trigger the internal sounds in Cubase using midi. However, I have tried and tried to figure out how to get the internal sounds from the keyboard recorded and just cannot do so, I cannot get any evidence that the program is even hearing the sounds from the keyboard (no sound is coming out, no volume indicators moving or anything). I have watched the videos etc for help but cannot figure it out. I am completely new to this so I am probably missing something really basic. Would someone be able to set out the steps I need to go through in a project to set up a new track that is recording external keyboard sound plugged in via my FocusRite? Is there a list of setting I should check to make sure I have got everything set up correctly? Would appreciate any help as I have been struggling with this for four months. I do not have much time (work away from home and two kids). I did not expect it to be so hard to get started when I bought the program!

Thanks in anticipation!

You’ll need audio leads out from your keyboard to the focusrite and then record an audio track, as opposed to the midi track you have already recorded.

I have disconnected the midi and got audio lead but nothing is registering. I am pretty sure it is the way I have the track set up but do not understand enough to fix it.

I am going into project and telling it to set an instrument track up but then do not seem to be able to tell it to receive the instrument sound in audio from the synth via focus rite. I am sure there must be a checklist I can work through (eg do you have input set on x and something else set on y?) but I do not know enough to figure the checklist out and I do not have the knowledge that the online tutorials assume.

It is very frustrating as I have a piece of expensive kit that I just cannot figure out!