no aftertouch during playback

Hi,

I am experiencing problems with aftertouch during playback using halion instruments, the initial touch is working fine but I cannot hear the aftertouch when I played my midi device. I am using an electone, Stagea, so aftertouch should be working fine and I can see the midi instructions for aftertouch being written during recording. Anyone knows what exactly is the problem? Thanks in advance.

1. Are you hearing the aftertouch while plying it live (i.e. is the aftertouch only missing on playback?)?
  2. If you are not hearing the aftertouch, even when playing live, are you certain that the preset that you are using in HALion is set to respond to aftertouch?
  1. No, the aftertouch was not there when I played live
  2. I cannot find any knobs or buttons that enables or disables aftertouch in the HALion SE interface. I am using the french horn preset, I assume that aftertouch is available for this preset? Please pardon my noobness as I am still new to cubase.

Be aware that HALion Sonic SE offers very little in the way of editing functions (as opposed to the “full” HALion Sonic :wink: )… even if those presets were originally created on the full version.
Is the preset you are referring to called “[GM 061] French Horn”? If so, then, no it isn’t set up for aftertouch.
Ideally, which parameter would you like to control by aftertouch? (I am guessing the “Tone Color”, seeing as how volume is already controlled by expression pedal (CC#11), and vibrato by the modwheel (CC#1).

But there is a way to “cheat” this (so long as you have the “full” version of Cubase)… you can convert your incoming aftertouch into any CC# number, via the track’s Input Transformer (the “crooked arrow” icon near the top of the track’s Inspector), then right-click on the HALion Sonic SE’s visible parameter of your choice, and “MIDI Learn” that transformed CC#.

Here’s a screenshot of how you should set up the Input Transformer (I chose to use CC#3)…