No Bypass?

I am relatively new to Nuendo, so please forgive my ignorance. In all other software programs that I’ve ever used, when you used plug ins to alter audio clips, there was an option by the host app to hear bypass so you could compare and hear what you were doing before you hit render. I can’t find such a switch in Nuendo. I can see one for channel wide on/off, but not for individual clips as you are playing with them unless the maker of the plug in added a second bypass button.

Where is it? If there isn’t one, why not?

It’s the little icon that has a square with a line over it. It’s on the actual plugin in the inserts area (on the mixer), and on the plugin window itself.

To completely disable the plugin, click it while holding ALT

Thanks for the quick reply.

What you are referring to is the insert for the track. I am asking about just for a clip. Like if you highlight a clip, click Audio>Plug In, and then choose an effect - once you finish playing around and hit “apply”, it applies it to that clip only and there is no entry in the track insert box.

It appears as if there is no “ByPass” function, so you can’t easily on/off it as it is going to hear the difference. Perhaps someone knows a workaround?

You can bypass the plugin in the direct offline processing window

1 Like

Mrrrk… Your screen looks different than mine :frowning: Does your upper left portion of that screen capture get autopopulated when you choose your plugins or is there something that I should be doing that I’m not? When I apply the filter, it gets rendered, so it’s working, but the left side of my screen doesn’t get populated, so I don’t have those tools.

You need to apply the selected PlugIn (apply) to be able to [Bypass] it after the fact :wink: !

1. select a clip
  2. open DOP
  3. select a Plugin and adjust settings
  4. APPLY !
  5. no this plugin get on the list on the left
    → there you can bypass/delete and so on …