No signal in channel meter from guitar

Hi
Total Noob here, so thanks in advance for your input. I’ve come undone and haven’t even started yet! Not good anyways. I’m using Cubase LE 5 with PC laptop, Tascam US-122mk11 (US-122MKII | 製品トップ | TASCAM (日本)) soundcard. I’m using computer monitors for now.

Guitar is going into line/guitar R - then USB into laptop.
Monitors coming out of headphones jack.
Mono set to OFF.
Phantom OFF.
INPUT set to GUITAR

I can hear my guitar through the monitors but I have no signal in the channel meter and no playback with clicktrack. So nothing is happening when I record.

Its bound to be something simple and stupid, perhaps in the VST connections so I’ve attached some screenshots.

Thanks
VST connections - inputs.jpg

VST Connections, outputs attached.
VST connections - outputs.jpg

Which specific input ports are you using? Is there a setting on the interface that determines direct as opposed to computer monitor? Did you select the correct input port on the audio track?

Hi thank for quick reply

• re ports, I’ve attached a screenshot of what’s going on there
    ports.jpg
  • re monitoring, I’m not sure to be honest - nothing obvious on the soundcard. Can I try a different approach re monitoring? (at the moment i’m coming form phones jack to monitors, i could go from the line out jack instead) or does this make no difference? I’ve noticed in the Devices Setup window, ‘direct monitoring’ is in grey just above the list of ports.

I’ve also noticed that when I’m in Devices Setup and click on VST System link - the connections are not there on the right hand side - see screenshot here
VST System link.jpg

• i’ve attached a screenshot of the audio track regarding the input port - hope this helps
    audio track.jpg
    hope i’m making some sense