No sound from almost all tracks

I’m running Cubase 8.5 on Windows 7 64 bit. I have a project that I’ve been working on for about the past 6 months. It contains 40 tracks, all VSTs. I had it open last night and listened to it but didn’t save anything. Last night it was fine. I’ve opened the project again tonight and now all but 6 of the tracks are silent. Nobody else has access to this PC so nobody can possibly have changed anything since last night.

None of the affected tracks show any activity on the mixer
If I copy one of the affected tracks to another project, it remains silent
If I open one of the affected Sylenth tracks and play/click a key, both of its L and R out put channels light up on Sylenth itself but there’s still no activity on the mixer
Nothing is showing as muted or solo’d
If I add a new VST instrument track it seems to work fine

I cannot believe this has happened now of all times when I needed Cubase to actually work as it should, the day before an engineer is coming in to finish mixing and mastering. Can anybody shed any light on what is going on??

I take it, you filed a report with Steinberg by now?

I did, but I’ve just accessed the project again and it all appears to be working. On the one hand this is great, but on the other hand it’s very disconcerting that it could happen in the first place and I still have no idea why.