Noisy playback on simple files

When I play back a file I get crackling noises, even when the CPU usage very low. My current spec should appear in my signature, the computer is I think about four years old and is due for upgrading. So, the first question is- is it a problem with the built-in soundcard? If so, is there a fix that I can apply?

If there is no practical fix, then I am willing and able to buy a better specified computer and any peripherals that are needed but I was rather hoping not to have to do this too soon because, as a newbie, I want to get familiar with the software and decide what uses I want to put it to before investing in what might turn out to be the wrong equipment.

At the moment I foresee only enthusiastic amateur use, by someone who loves music but isn’t very good at it. I have a Roland VG-99 and Godin Multiac guitar by the way, but get the crackles even when they are not in use.

Aloha R,

For playback, try increasing your buffer size.

As a rule I set:

1-buffers lo for tracking
and
2-buffers hi for playback.

HTH (hope this helps) and good luck.
{‘-’}

Thanks, Curteye, I will try that next chance I get. :slight_smile:

You say you have a Zoom R16. Aren’t you using that as your “soundcard”?

No, just as an audio interface. I got it because initially I was going to use only that as a recoding device, the Cubase was an idea I had later on. Now that I have the Cubase I don’t use the Zoom for recording, just as a way of getting audio signals into the computer (via USB).