Notes triggered but not entered in drumset staff with "Use Percussion Map"

Hi All,

I’m new to Dorico after being completely bowled over by the Dorico Pro 2.0 update. After 25 years or so on another product, I can’t imagine ever going back. The power, elegance and depth of Dorico are amazing. It’s so well thought out that I’m really not even concerned about those features I’m currently missing, like string harmonics, because I can tell that they’ll be there in due time and will be really done right.

The current issue I’m having could,as always, just be operator error, but it is this: when I switch Percussion Input to “Use percussion map,” which would be my preferred method of input, I can hear the notes being triggered correctly (I’m using a GM map), but no notes are entered into the staff and the caret does not progress. If I jump to any other instrument the notes enter normally and the caret moves forward as expected.

I’ve tried the normal stuff like restarting Dorico, rebooting the computer, and using a new file, but the result is always the same.

I’m on a late 2013 “trashcan” Mac running OS version 10.13.4.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

That’s really odd, Steve. Are you working on just a regular drum set staff? Is the caret visible and positioned on the staff?

Hi Daniel,

Thanks for the quick reply. It is a regular 5-line drumset staff, and the caret is visible.

In going back in to get the answer to your questions, I realized a mistake I had made. I loaded a drumset, but neglected to load the GM percussion map. So I just did that, and got a partial fix.