Old Multicompressor

I don’t know if there is a solution to this but I’ll give it a try.

I have been using Steinberg’s Multicompressor in Nuendo for many years now as a brickwall limiter. I haven’t found anything better (have tried DMG Limiteless, Fabfilter L2, Sonnox Limiter, Slate FG-X and others) for getting things really loud and being transparent at the same time. I know it wasn’t made for it but it is kind of magical in that it works so well, though not by design. Just select softclip and classic and that’s it. By the way it was made in 2001.

Multicompressor doesn’t work in N8 (which I am currently demoing) because of the removal of 32 bit support. It won’t work with Jbridge either because it seems to be tied to Steinberg and needs to used directly - I get an error message that says this plugin requires Wavelab 4 (though it worked in every previous Nuendo version).

I can’t find a work around and want to know if anyone else has found this gem and/or has found a solution or may have thought of something.

I could do my limiting as a second step in wavelab but this messes with my workflow.

Thanks,

Dean
Multicompressor.jpg

The “Soft Clip” button in all of these pre-historic 2000~2005 Cubase and Nuendo plugins is actually a hard clip that creates a ton of distortion. It’s anything but transparent. It comes last in the signal flow (after the output knob) so it’s the compressor that’s doing most of the job if you activate the compression curves.

The new Distortion effect and the Distortion algorithm in Quadrafuzz v2 (which is multiband) are also hard clippers. Using the Distortion plugin, set the tone knob to max and keep in mind that it starts clipping earlier so you’ll need some proper gain staging, and you’ll get a similar (if not the same or better) result.

You got me excited for a minute. I tried it and it doesn’t do the same thing at all. It doesn’t limit and does distort.