Opinions wanted in relation to buying new monitor(s)

Hi there,

I am in need of a monitor setup for my audio production setup. Now I am having trouble to decide what to do.

So here is my dilemma:

• 2 x 24" monitors (1920 x 1080) or
  • 1 x 29" ultrawide monitor

What would be best for Cubase Pro 8=

Any suggestions on make-model is appreciated also.

Thank you in advance.

if the 29 inch was 4K then this would be my choice, just because of more real estate. But most wide screens are 2560x1080/1440, so in this case the 2x24 win.

Quite happy here with a pair of AOC 2369M at 1920x1080, and very good value.

I would personally not go with ultrawide, just because it gives you less ‘useful’ screen area.
2 HD monitors allow a full screen mixconsole and a fullscreen project window, if you had to combine these 2 on 1 ultrawide monitor they’d be smaller.

Being a computer tech, I tend to look at resolution, contrast, how rich is the color, etc. I would pick the setup that would be most pleasing. The argument of two monitors being more actual real estate is worth considering, but you’ll find you can work faster on single wide screen. So what is more important to you?

Jxff

Thank you for all the replies. I appreciate it very much. I do think I will go for 2 x 24" monitors.

Thanx again.

A second monitor is also currently the only practical solution to the problem of not being able to have the mixer always on top.

I’m considering a LG 4K television, at the moment they go for approximately around 450 euros in the Netherlands.
I’m not sure if my videocard has HDMI 1.4 (which is needed for this resolution).

LG 43UF640V for example, however I’ll need a new desk then :confused: as it’s a 43 inch television.

I haven’t thought of a 4K tv…Would the refresh rate be a problem?

I wonder if there are cubase users using a 4K monitor…