Optimizing the Process of Sketching

I’d like to make a suggestion for a command to make it easier to sketch. I’ve been using Dorico daily (and heavily) for about 4 months or so;* if this feature is already available I apologize but haven’t been able to find it:

Suggested feature: Make Flow From Selection — I like to work on alternate versions of a section or a piece. It would be great if I could quickly make a safety of the music I’ve created. The workflow would be:

• Select some music
  • Select (for example) Edit>Make Flow from Selection
  • A popup appears asking for a name for the new Flow (default = the current date and time)
  • Hit enter and continue to compose happy in the knowledge there is a safety copy that won’t be changed and that can quickly be referred to without having to undo 30-plus steps.

(It would be nice if Make Flow From Selection could automatically insert the selection’s meter and tempo. At present copying music to a new flow does not do so. )

While it is possible to set up a sketching flow and copy things to it (which I do), it takes several steps which breaks the mood. When sketching, all I want to do is to quickly get back to the ideas I have and not shift modes, look where to name things, etc.

*In terms of workflow , stability, and features, Dorico is a vast improvement over the other professional notation programs I’ve used. I’m very, very happy to have bought it.

4 Likes

(Not saying your idea is without merit) But what’s wrong with using split flow to achieve this?

At the very least, duplicate flow (from Setup mode), then delete or trim accordingly.

You can always duplicate flow and use the system track to get rid of whatever is not in your ideal selection. Nonetheless your idea is worth exploring.
PS : Leo and I are in sync! :joy: