Paid DAW... To Invest Or Not in Cubase 12

Hi Forum,
Not a “support”-related question per se,but hoping to get some actual user experience…
I’ve been using SONAR and eventually Cakewalk for many years as my DAW,and am mulling over the potential benefits of moving to a paid-for DAW,specifically Cubase,which I’ve used previously in an IoS environment.
Cakewalk has it’s detractors,however it’s been mostly stable for me in a Windows 10 environment and has regular hot fixes and updates.
Reading extensively through the Cubase forum recently,some less than encouraging posts have been placed with regards to Cubase 12(either 0.5 or 0.52 updates)causing freezing and crashes in a Windows 10 OS,a couple of which extend to discussions about legal action from professional users.
My own usage is purely as a home amateur musician and engineer with relatively simple workflow,however it would be good to have some confidence that a purchase approaching £500 UK would function consistently without many issues.I have Wavelab 11 Pro and this has performed well so far.
So the question I have is,leaving aside the seemingly excellent collection of included VST plugins and instruments and focusing on core DAW functionality,does Cubase 12 provide additional capability that is worth investing in,over and above what Cakewalk supports?
My system specification is:-
Windows 10 20H2 Build 19041(updates switched off and registry disabled)
Intel i7 10750H 2.6Ghz
64Gb DDR4
nVidia GeForce GTX 1650
2 x 1TB M2 SSD driver.
Focusrite Scarlett 3rd Gen Solo using Focusrite driver and Control Panel.
Line6 Helix on-board USB interface using ASIO Helix driver.

I will acknowledge any responses on here,from anyone considerate enough to respond.
Thanks
Neil
NW England.