PC88MX/ Cubase newbie help needed

Hello,

I’m trying to use my PC88MX through Cubase. I have been unable to figure out how to set it up. I’m using an RC505 looper as my “hub” as per the advice of my music store. I’m certain I have all my connections correct. I bought padshop with Cubase.

My device setup in Cubase is showing generic low latency ASIO driver. I don’t know why it doesn’t show the RC505 driver. I have the latest driver and update for the looper. That part worked.

I also don’t understand how to set up my piano as the controller. I turned local control off, but that didn’t seem to do anything. I’m completely new to this kind of setup, but I didn’t expect it to be this difficult. I really would appreciate any help. I’ve been reading manuals like crazy, but I’m not really getting anywhere. I really want to get set up!

Thanks

You’ll need an ASIO driver for the RC505. If you can’t select it in Cubase device setup then it seems it didn’t install correctly.

How did you connect your piano to the computer? USB straight from the piano to your PC?

Hi Strophoid,

I think my problem is actually using the RC505 for the interface. It’s keeps going into idle. I’m resetting everything up through the UR44 that I bought. That should work. I’m just going to try again with it. The ASIO driver is showing in Cubase for the RC505, but it will probably go to the driver for the UR44 now, right? I’m going to try again.
I have midi and 2 phono jacks from my piano connected to the UR44, and then through USB from the UR44 to my laptop. I just had to get a power bar to get enough plugs here. I’ll post after I try again. Thanks!

Hi Strophoid,

Okay - I redid everything, and have partial success. My driver for the UR44 installed correctly.
I followed the youtube video Step 1 How to Configure Cubase for 1st Use.
When I got to the test MP3, the song worked through my laptop speaker as well as my big speaker.