Percussion Input via MIDI Keyboard

Hello,

I’m still new to Dorico and trying to figure out some of the basics. Right now I’m stuck with inputting different playing techniques for percussion instruments using a MIDI keyboard.

I’ve set up all of the used articulations by the VST as playing techniques for the instrument in the Setup mode and they appear in Write mode just fine.

I also created a percussion map for this instrument linking the playing techniques to pitches.

What I expected is, that recording the note E3 on my MIDI keyboard will automatically put this note in the “Rim shot” lane, displayed in the MIDI editor. But instead, the note gets put into the regular “Snare Drum” lane with the Natural playing technique and therefore plays back the wrong articulation. Am I doing something wrong or is this just not how things work? Do I have to manually put the note into the right lange?

Here are my preferences for percussion input:

I suspect you need to adjust the value of Input techniques from MIDI key, since MIDI note 48 is C3, i.e. the C below middle C (MIDI note 60). Try setting that value to something like 12, which will move it a lot further down the keyboard.

Unfortunately all notes are still placed in the “Snare Drum” lane with the “Natural” playing technique.

Is my assumption even right, that depending on the notes played on the MIDI keyboard, they should automatically be assigned to the lane with the corresponding playing technique?

Yes, absolutely it is. Perhaps you could attach the project in which you’ve defined your percussion map, so we can take a look and see exactly how things are configured?

Here you go:
Score.dorico (892.6 KB)

Thanks for providing this project. There’s a bug here that is preventing the mapping of MIDI notes to percussion playing techniques for single-line percussion instruments that are not part of a percussion kit. I will make sure this gets fixed. Sorry for the inconvenience in the meantime!