Percussion notation - conventions, notation, workflow Cubase 12 vs Dorico 4?

Greetings,

I am currently re-thiinking my workflow. I am familar with Cubase (12) and rusty on Cubase’s notation. I am a newbie with Dorico.
I am creating pieces in Cubase using mostly EW Hollywood Orchestra Opus, and a few other libraries inc Iconica and HSO. These are supplemented with synths and various non orchestral instruments.
Percussion wise, I am making use of samples, loops, various NKI’s and orchestral percussion in the orchestral apps. I also use controller lanes, note expression and mixing inserts etc.

I do like to look at things in a score if I can. After a bit of a tidy up using Cubase’s display quantise, the score for woods, brass and strings is usually legible. I really don’t know much about how to notate drum kit or percussion parts. Does anyone have a good source please?

Trying to conceive of a workflow too. I know Dorico is a more powerful package than Cubase score, but I initially look at scores in Cubase - because that is where my work is created - making use of all the powers of the sequencer and it’s powerful key editor. It may be that I have to cut Dorico out of the picture all together, but as I have said, problably Dorico can probably do a better job at notating percussion.

Still a bit perplexed by all of this…not sure if I am on the right path…

Any advice greatefully recieved

Z

One issue you will run into is that you can’t easily use samples and loops in Dorico, because it doesn’t provide tempo sync. But obviously you can’t notate the content of samples and loops in a meaningful way in any case.