percussion. tuplets and rhythmic grid

Hi, I need to write some rhythm for drumset which contains 4:6 tuplets. I was expecting Dorico will recognize this tuplet for each single voice automatically. Switching to a “single-line instruments” view and creating the same kind of tuplets for each single voice and beat is a quite time consuming task. Here is an example what I am going to achieve. Thank you for your help.

Two ideas:

1. Write a macro and assign it to a key command, like Alt-4. What’s your OS? I wrote one for AHK (Windows) and it was quite simple (and I’m no programmer). Something like this:
  • send {;}
  • send {4:6}
  • send {Enter}
  1. Copy and paste the tuplet, and Lock Durations (with “O”), which preserves all rhythms, and you just re-enter notes as desired.

Dear dankreider, thank you very much for your answer. How do I write macros in Dorico? I am not so familiar with that. Would you be so kind to describe one example step by step? :blush: I am on a latest macOS. Thank you:)

Any way I am trying to ask slightly different thing: while entering notes in “5 lines” mode, when I create a tuplet in one single voice (in my example it was a bass drum), I thought, Dorico will allow me to enter next notes in THIS tuplet for OTHER (snare oder hi-hat) instrument just using arrows, WITHOUT switching to a “Grid” or “Single line instruments” view and reentering tuplets for each single voice. But it was not a case…Just try to write this figure in “5 lines” view and you will understand what I mean.

Dorico will create tuplets for all kit instruments that share the same voicing. If the tuplets for all instruments at a position are identical, only one will be drawn. We could have changed the behaviour to always create tuplets for all voices/instruments on the kit, but then it would have been extremely tedious to write a different tuplet structure for individual kit instruments.