Periodic pop/noise on playback with certain buffer settings

Hi guys,
i have a strange problem. Whenever i use a different combination of Sample Rate and Buffer Size than 44100 and 512, i get this strange periodic noise on playback with Dorico. With every Playback template i use (tried Halion and VSL). Only Dorico is affected, Cubase and other audio (browser, local mp3’s) work normal.
Since i want to increase the buffer to 1024 for performance reasons, i don’t know how to do this. I’m not an expert in these subjects (sample rate, buffer…), so maybe there is some stupid/obvious setting i made or didn’t made but i can only think of the “Device Setup → Device Control Panel…” in Dorico.
I made the video with the settings 44100 and 1024. Has anyone an idea how to get rid of this?
Thanks

do you by any chance have Finale open as well ?. I’ve noticed that Finale is a total hog on the audio system and get crackling noise whenever it has to share resources.

Hi @frave ,
I’ve never heard or experienced something like this.
What VSTinstrument are you actually using for playback? Does this also happen with HALion Sonic SE and the default playback?
Normally increasing the buffer size should stabilize the audio, not worsen it. What if you create a new organ project with the HALion Sonic default template? I would be very puzzled if that also did show that behaviour.

@tom_ginsberg no, i don’t use finale. it happens even Dorico is the only application running.
@Ulf The VST in the previous video was VSL, but it happens also with HALion Sonic SE. I created a new project as you suggested and created a new video. As you can see, the pop vanishes when i set the Buffer to 512.

1 Like

found out a little bit more:

• sample rate set to 44100 or 48000, it works with every buffer size < 1024.
  • sample rate set to 88200 or higher, it works also with buffer size 1024.

but unfortunately, by raising the sample rate i lose the performance advantage.