Pipe Organ Dynamics

It seems that the pipe organ doesn’t respond to dynamics (p, f, etc.). The top (treble) organ line is especially hard to hear in its upper registers when other instruments are playing. I can, of course, push the organ to top volume in the mixer, but I don’t know how to change it during playback. I admit I’ve no experience with Expression Maps, but there seems to be non listed for organ. I’d appreciate any suggestions, since I’m working on some pieces for brass quintet and church organ.

–N

What playback device are you using, Norm? The built-in ‘HSSE+HSO (Pro)’ playback template, or NotePerformer, or something else?

Hi Daniel: As far as I know I’m using what shows up on the right side of the Play mode screen, under VST Instruments: “02 - HALion Sonic SE” It’s what came with my Dorico 3.5, AudioEngine 3.1.0.3. I’m not aware that I have any other playback device. (And I did download the sounds when I updated from 3.1 to 3.5, even though it wasn’t required.)

I see that Symphonic Sounds are also listed under VST, but its organ sound is awful if I select it – and there is still no sensitivity to dynamics.

Unless they are in a Swell box, many organ stops do not have changeable volume. I have not checked to see if the HALion organ mimics this.

Click on the cog-wheel icon in the right hand panel, then change the Expression Map from Default to CC11 dynamics.

As Derrek said, that isn’t entirely realistic, but at least it responds to dynamics in the score.

BTW there is something broken about the default “Tutti Concert Organ” samples for the top few notes of the standard 5-octave keyboard range (above G an octave above the top of the treble staff), but I don’t expect anybody is likely to fix that any time soon.

But many older church organs don’t have full 5-octave keyboards, so unless you know this is going to be played on a fairly modern instrument, you don’t want to write higher than F an octave above the treble staff anyway.