Playback not smooth

Hello,

I have just installed and begun using Dorico 3 pro so I’m new to the program and to professional scoring programs in general (I was using Musescore before).

I’ve been experiencing problems with playback: the sound regularly stops for a second, then continues but without all the instrument till the next bar (kind of stuttering playback). This results in a playback that is not smooth and it is difficult to get a proper acoustic idea of the flow of what I’m writing.

After checking the “troubleshooting playback issues” video and spending hours going through the forum I’ve tried:

• increasing the buffer size in Edit>Device setup
  • increasing the Maxvoices in the instrument edit
  • switching to 2 cores in multi-core also in the instrument edit (though I didn’t quite understand what cores are)

The playback problem is still there… does anyone else have an idea how I could fix this? ( I’m using Windows 7 on an Asus UX31 series.)
Thanks!

Since you did already everything that I would have suggested, your case is pretty difficult.
I would continue with running Latency Monitor (free download under https://www.resplendence.com/latencymon) and see if your computer appears to be capable of doing serious audio processing.

Ulf is the expert of course, but could it help to turn off the System Track (alt-T) if it is on?

Thanks both for your tips.

I tried to turn off the System Track but it unfortunately didn’t change much.

I ran the Latency Monitor as you suggested and there does indeed seem to be a problem. I’m currently trying to make sense of this message (it’s a lot of very specific vocabulary that I’m not familiar with)…: