Pro Tools HD to Cubase Pro transition issues

Hi everyone,

newbie here, but you might know me from gearslutz etc. Feel free to move if it’s in the wrong subforum of course)

I haven’t really used Cubase in 17-18 years.
Now I’m considering to switch from PTHD to Cubase 9 Pro in combination with DTouch.

I’ve a huge template and routing system in PTHD though, which I’m trying to replicate in Cubase 9 Pro and Studio One Pro (another candidate to replace PTHD).
There’s a few issues I’m running into in Cubase Pro, maybe some of you power users can offer some help, because I might be simply missing something.

The main things I’m running into at the moment have to do with bussing and side chaining…
I have a group of about twenty paralel channels ( sort of ‘pre stems’). I want to put compressors on there that are keyed from another channel/bus.

In Pro Tools you create a send to a any bus on that one or more channel(s), let’s call it “SideChain” and then in the ganged plugins you select that bus as the key input.

In Cubase, however, it seems to work differently, which is admittedly quite handy for the simple side chaining most people do, but it appears to be a nightmare for my scenario.
When you turn on the sidechain function of a compressor plugin, it automatically creates a unique sidechain bus for that compressor.
You don’t seem to be able to choose an alternative bus for that compressor OR the same bus for all of these processors.

Okay, that sucks in my case. So as a workaround do I need to add twenty sends to a group/bus channel? Not possible!
I’ll need to make a paralel bus channel that listens to the same bus… Also, not possible! Because for some reason, you cannot assign a different input to a bus/group/FX channel in Cubase either. When you create a bus channel it creates a bus with that name. (Again, this is admittedly handy for most users, but does limit flexibility when you get to more advanced things)