Problem in chordsymbol input b10 vs #9

How to input a b10 instead of a #9 into th chordsymbol input [shift Q]

Hi,
I’m fairly new to Dorico, (have worked with Finale though for many year professionally) so maybe I’m overlooking something here, but it seems to me there is no way of getting a b10 into the chordsymbol input [shift Q]. Of course you can type it in but it doesn’t show up in the symbol (it’s just ignored). I find this strange because b9, #9, #11 etc can be inputted correctly. Although b10 is enharmonically equivalent to #9 (as long as you play the piano or another equally tempered instrument) in a theoretical sense there is a difference (in fact in most cases e.g. in an altered chord it would be more correct to call for a b10 instead of a #9). I would like to have the possibility to input b10 into the chord extensions just like you can input b9, #11 or b13. If there isn’t an easy way to do this already can you please make it available in a next maintenance update?

Best,
Harald

There’s not an easy way, but you can edit each one individually. You can also set it up in Chord Symbols/Project Default Appearances for a global change, but you’ll need to do it for each root.

You’ll probably want to use the Composite glyph comp.csymAccidentalFlat for the flat and set the attachment points to Baseline Right and Baseline Left (not Bottom). I understand your theoretical point, but a b10 sure looks strange to me. I’m not sure I’ve ever seen that in anything published before.

Thanks Fred,

I’m glad to hear/see it’s possible at all in Dorico. But it sure sounds like a lot of inconvenience.

I can imagine it (b10) looks kind of strange if you never used but in Europe including in the UK (but also in earlier publications on the North American continent [see Gordon Delamont {=Canada} works published by Kendor]) it wasn’t that uncommon. In fact some of the the composers/arrangers that use(d) b10 almost never use(d) #9.