Problem recording MIDI on 7.5 & Ozone

Hi Folks,

I have just got 7.5 up and running on a laptop - this is while I wait for a new-build PC. For the time being I am using an M-Audio Ozone as the ASIO sound card and midi inputter via USB.

Before I get to my problem I have checked & made sure Ozone is working correctly by opening up Sibelius 7. All fine.

It appears to be working ok in Cubase 7.5 as well, but with all the input midi meters working I cannot seem to record onto a Midi track. The virtual keyboard and direct input in the midi editor work fine. In the Midi in/outs for the track I have selected both ‘all midi inputs’ and the ‘Ozone’. I have outputted to the bundled Halion with a piano loaded.

This is an upgrade from SX2 so I’m not a total novice with Cubase just with the ensuing 10 years advancement. I have gone through the 7.5 manual and followed it all the way (I think) but still am getting nothing when I try to record midi with the Ozone keyboard. I even re-booted everything to make sure. The Device Setup all seems ok.

I’ve probably missed something very simple but before I pull all of what’s left of my hair out has anyone got any ideas?

Regards

Jeff

Ok - I have narrowed the field. The problem is to do with the Ozone. (I have 2 of these and they are both acting the same)

In the Devices Midi port setup the Ozone is shown as ‘Directmusic’.
At the moment I have connected a Waldoft Blofeld via USB (shows as ‘Windows MIDI’) and it is recording with no problems.
Switch back to the Ozone - all the meters work the same. Nothing records.

Is this problem due to Cubase not recognising the ‘MIDI over USB’ from the Ozone?

Or is it to do with the ‘Directmusic’ and ‘Windows MIDI’ device descriptions?

Can I use the ‘MIDI Port filter’ utillity from Cubase SX era to fix this?

Am I going loopy?

Anyone out there got any ideas?

Regards

Jeff