Problems Switching Out Instruments/Missing VST

Hello,

I am very new to Cubase, but I have enjoyed it the most of the new DAWs I’ve been experimenting with. So far, it has been the easiest song to transfer MIDI files from finale and replace them with better sounding VSTs. Right now, I am having a problem and I’m stumped on how to fix it.

I first tried the Cubase 10 Elements trial on my on my Macbook Pro and it worked nearly flawlessly. I had also used the Halion 6 trial VSTs and they worked without issue. I was easily able to switch out the instrument choices for my midi files.

I have since installed Cubase 10 elements on my windows PC, but it is not working as seamlessly as it did on my mac. Firstly, I’m unable to change out the instrument for the midi files. When I open up the Output Routing, the only option I have is Microsoft GS Wavetable Synth. Adding them as separate instruments does not work either. Secondly, the Halion 6 VST I had downloaded does not show up in the right zone of the main screen where VSTs are handled. These issues were no present on my mac, so I’m wondering what I am doing wrong and how I can go about correcting these issues.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Hi and welcome,

To me it sounds like you have created a MIDI tracks, after import MIDI File. Is there any Instrument in the project? What is your Preferences > MIDI > MIDI File > Destination settings, please? I would expect MIDI Tracks is there. I would recommend any other but this option.

Is HALion Sonic SE installed on your PC? Is HALion installed on your PC? Could you double-check it in the Plug-in Manager, please?

Hi, I appreciate your quick reply.

1. I’ll try to answer your questions as best I can. Currently, there no instruments in the project.
  2. I’m not sure where the “Preference” tab is or how to get to the destination settings.