Quandary: upgrade to Cubase 8.5 Pro or get another mic

I need some help in deciding how to spend a couple of hundred USD.

I do mostly live studio recordings of improvised music (acoustic and electric). I record on a Zoom F8. Since I am pretty new to this, I am still buying the hardware needed. My next investment was supposed to be a Beyerdynamic M201, which I would use for snare drum and/or saxes and clarinets, and guitar cab.

Now, yesterday I saw that Steinberg has a 40% discount on upgrading to Cubase 8.5 pro. The discount is good until 15 August.

I am currently using Cubase Elements 8, which I am very happy with.

However, I can see how it might be useful for me to upgrade to Pro, especially at this discount.

My main interests in the upgrade would be

1. Better automation
  2. Some fx, particularly the Deesser and Reverence (I now use Voxengo’s Pristine Space, which is excellent, but 32 bit)
  3. Better metering
  4. Workflow optimisations

I do not use midi at all, nor any VSTis. I do not use any composition features. I do not use comping. I have no problem with the limited track count in Elements. I only record and mix audio tracks. So there is a lot in Pro that I don’t need, at least not in the foreseeable future.

In fact, if Steinberg didn’t offer this discount right now, I wouldn’t be considering upgrading to Pro at all. I have an UAD-2 Duo card and enough UAD fx and processors to make ma happy. I have been considering getting the UAD Precision deesser.

Now, please help me decide what to do here. Should I continue on the mic track and get the M201 and just forget about upgrading. Or should I take this opportunity to get the better featured Pro?

/Magnus

The way you describe it, stay on Elements.