Quentin (guitar instrumental)

I have been working with Cubase for a few years now and trying to improve my mixing skills. The early versions of the songs I put together do sound quite horrendous now. Having said that, I still think that I have still a lot to learn and a lot of areas where to improve.

So, how do you find this little guitar piece?

Very nice! I like the 7/8 start and the tones of the guitars are excellent. Nice solo.

Steve.

Really like what’s goin on here…love the guitar playing but sometimes you’ve got 2 axes fighting for space and it would be much more interesting if the drums and the guitar/guitars met on at least some of the the accents, would give it more punch I think, the drums seem to ploughing through the mix bonham style but without that one overhead in an ambient room sound…all in all though an interesting live mix kinda sound…well done…but onwards and upwards to a better mix, cheers, Kevin

I’d pretty much agree with Shadowfax. Very good clear sound basically for the mix. Seemed like you were trying to turn it around at 1:17 and there was a collision of the parts (maybe drum fill) mix issues and then a flute or keyboard fill. Did I hear correctly? When the solo comes in at the end , its volume is basically the same as the verse lines have been… like theres no where to go in order to stand out

On the way to something really good here.

Thanks for all the comments so far. I agree that there are quite many things happening at the same time at places and this has given me some problems also in the mixing phase (not only in this tune but others too). Somehow this seems to be the way these tunes turn out for me but as Mr M puts it there is danger that dynamics get too flat when there is a lot of stuff. Maybe I should try some more minimalistic approaches too or create more variation between the parts.