Question about midi quantize

Hi everyone, I’m fairly new to the mixing world. I’m a metal guitarist 15 years in the making. I dove into the recording briefly when I was younger back in the tascam 4 track recorder days. About 6 months ago I started researching daws. Fell in love with cubase, purchased elements 7 and recently decided to fully commit. I purchased full 7.5 upgrade and the waves gold bundle along with several other plugins to get me going. I also use ez drummer 2 a good bit for drums. I record all guitars and bass and some vocals.

I’ve been devoting a lot of time to learning the ins and outs of cubase. I love 7.5. They’re are so many features I can barely wrap my head around it. I recently FINALLY started grasping quantizing midi patterns and getting them close to what’s in my head. I have a question about this, hopefully some one can lend me a hand.

I play 8 string guitars. Lots of super heavy killswitch engage, korn style riffs with some dubstep flavor a here and there. I’m having trouble quantizing kick drum triplets to sync with my guitar chugs. You know. Da da da… Da da da… Da … Da da da… Djent style playing. The track I’m working on now is 160 bpm. I have it set to 4/4 but some riffs are 6/4. Should I be quantizing to 1/4 triplet grid? Or somthing like 1/32? The closest I can get is to manually draw in the triplets and it’s very hard to get it lined up. My distorted guitars do not make clear hitpoints. I have tried making them with bass (works ok…) I do like to quantize to the bass line on “half time” chorus. But I need that tight syncopated verse with the kick drum. There’s GOT to be a way to do this easier than what I’m doing.

I’m so commited to this that I would probably be willing to pay a vet level cubase user to teach me if necessary. I in this 100%. If I’m not mixing I’m reading about it 24/7 I just can’t seem to find an answer for this. Thanks in advance!